back to

Life Is Your Thoughts

by Takahiro Izumikawa

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    4 panel Digipak CD

    Includes unlimited streaming of Life Is Your Thoughts via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      $12 USD or more 


Introduction 00:48
Higan 04:42
Walk Alone 05:58


Takahiro Izumikawa is a highly sought-after pianist, keyboardist, arranger, and producer born and raised in Japan. His style has roots in jazz and incorporates Hip-Hop, R&B, Gospel, and traditional Japanese melodies. He released his first piano solo album in 2014, which was sponsored by KAWAI, a major piano manufacturer. He moved to New York City later that year

To further his music career, working with well-known hip hop artists such as Smif&Wessun, Kool Keith, Black Moon, and Smoke DZA. He has also worked with Grammy Award winning musicians Maurice Brown (Anderson.Paak), Keyon Harrold (D’Angelo, Erykah Badu), YEBBA (vocalist), Jermaine Holmes (D’Angelo), Daru Jones (drummer), Mononeon (Prince, Ghost-Note), Marcus Machado (guitarist), and Timothy Bloom (vocalist). In 2016, he performed with Takuya Kuroda, a notable trumpet player who debuted through Blue Note Records at the Blue Note Jazz Festival, which was headlined by Earth Wind and Fire, George Benson, and Marcus Miller. In 2017, he arranged all the tracks on Hard Times, by jazz giant Vincent Herring.

Izumikawa’s latest album is a cross-cultural examination, born out of his experiences living and working in both Japan and the United States. Musically, the tracks on the album balance traditional Japanese melodies and Hip-Hop, R&B, and Jazz.The title track Back to the Moon – Life is Your Thoughts is particularly poignant. It’s based on the 10th century Japanese fictional prose narrative Princess Kaguya, which ends with the princess tearfully leaving earth to return to her home on the moon. The song plays out a conversation between the English rap and the Japanese lyrics, taken directly from poems in the original text.


released April 10, 2020

01 Introduction | Programmed by Takahiro Izumikawa

02 No Satisfaction | Programed by Takahiro Izumikawa

03 Life Is Your Thoughts
Vocal, Lyrics Jermaine Holmes
Rap, Lyrics Demetrius Richardson
Bass Parker McAllister
Drums Joe Blaxx
Background Chorus Natalie Oliveri | Kei Owada | Anna Toribuchi | Yasunobu Uezu
Background Chorus Dan Noguchi

04 Higan | Programmed by Takahiro Izumikawa

05 Trigger
Vocal Syl Dubenion
Background Chorus Lyrics, Guitar Dan Noguchi
Background Chorus Ruby Choi
Bass Parker McAllister
Drums Marshall York

06 Shigan
Bass Parker McAllister
Drums Joe Blaxx
Background Chorus Sarah Kang

07 Walk Alone
Bass. Marcos Varela
Drums Jay Sawyer

08 Moving Up
Vocal, Lyrics Bajah
Background Chorus Natalie Oliveri

09 Interlude
Bass Parker McAllister
Drums Marshall York

10 Close Again
Vocal, Lyrics Natalie Oliveri

11 Who You’ll Make Me Be
Vocal, Lyrics Maya Hatch
Background Chorus Sarah Kang

All songs written, Produced by Takahiro Izumikawa except
“Life Is Your Thoughts” written by Takahiro Izumikawa and Jermaine Holmes
“Moving up” written by Takahiro Izumikawa and Bajah

Mixed, Sound-Designed by Todd Carder at The Bunker Studio
Mastered by Alex DeTurk at The Bunker Studio
Recording engineers Michael Brorby, Dakota Bowman
Recording Studios
Acoustic Recording
Atomic Sound NYC
Access Art Music Studio
Taku’s Ryokan

Photography Ogata
PackageDesign Andy Hunter


all rights reserved


If you like Takahiro Izumikawa, you may also like: